sketchypandas

I’ve been working on several panda illustration based on photographs- mostly pictures I took, but some pictures my friends have taken. In this first picture, the SNOW beer is pretty east to see. The glasses and bottles may seem disproportionate to your Western eyes, but in China, it is common to drink beer out of small glasses that has been poured from a larger bottle. It facilitates frequent toasts among drinkers, toasts that vary in enthusiasm and glory depending on the spirit of the revelers. Sometimes you drink with your friend. Sometimes you drink with your boss. Sometimes you drink with some creepy government official who won’t stop touching your leg and spits rice when he talks. Sometimes you drink with bored alcoholics that just keep toasting to keep themselves from committing mass murder-suicide. I spent my time there as a diplomat, so I drank with everybody. It’s just one of the way I protected America’s interests abroad. I deserve grant money.

pandagrocery

This is based on photograph of myself and a lovely woman I met in Almaty, Kazakhstan (the music capital of Central Asia) at the grocery where she worked. She might still work there. The photo was taken in 2008 right before the Beijing Olympics.

bluehairbabepanda

This one is not based on a photograph that I took. It’s from somewhere in the erotic abyss that is the internet.

pandathuglove

This one reminds me a bit of Diane Arbus. I only recently learned that she was married to M*A*S*H’s Dr. Freeman in the wake of Allan Arbus’s death. That news really blew my mind. My mind can barely wrap itself around the fact that  M*A*S*H featured an actor named Alan Alda and an actor named Allan Arbus. That must have been confusing. The folks at the 4077 had trouble keeping Asians straight, so they hired the same five Japanese actors to play all the Japanese, Korean, Chinese, and Asian-American roles. The nurses all had seemed to function normally despite their multiple personality disorders.

catvsdrunkpanda

This picture speaks to one of my dear friends who is currently help get malaria out of Africa. Her compassion for others is rivaled only by her cat-titude, which is an unstoppable force of sugar and spice.

